2019 FSHS ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING

The annual business meeting was held at the Sheraton North Orlando on Tuesday, June 11, 2019.

The meeting was called to order by FSHS Chairman of the Board Eric Simonne. Eric Simonne introduced Gene McAvoy as the new 2020 Chairman of the Board.

Gene McAvoy opened the business meeting acknowledging the local arrangements and held a moment of silence in remembrance of those members who had passed away in the last year.

Jamie Burrow entertained a motion to approve the 2018 annual business meeting minutes as presented in the proceedings. A motion was made by Mary Lamberts and seconded by Laurie Hurner. Motion was passed.

The membership report for 2018 was 170 members. A motion was made to accept the report by Juanita Popenoe and seconded by Cami McAvoy. Motion passed.

The treasurer's report was given by Jamie Burrow. A motion was made to accept the treasurer's report by Lisa Hickey and seconded by Juanita Popenoe. The motion passed.

The editor's report was given by Mary Lamberts. Proceedings were sent via a link. A new option for publishing in the proceedings was presented. The new guidelines are as follows: Components: Title, Authors, Affiliation(s) (complete mailing address(es), Objectives, Findings, Suggestions for future direction, Literature Cited is recommended, but not mandatory unless paper(s) are cited. Page limit: 1 printed page, with the editor cutting it off when she/he reaches the word limit **or** the author can edit to the correct page length beforehand. Recommended word count of around 700 words (use file>properties>statistics). There may be a serious page charge increase for more than 1 printed page. The motion passed.

Cami McAvoy gave the meeting coordinator report. At the 2019 annual meeting, 146 oral presentations, 38 applied for student oral competition and 15 were selected, and 12 posters. This was the first year of an online program. The 2020 presentation submission process will be done electronically and the deadline dates will be pushed back.

In new business, Zack Brym made a motion to change the section name of Natural Resources to Agroecology and Natural Resources. Craig Campbell seconded the motion and the motion passed.

Eric Simonne explained that the by-laws were in need of review and revision. A by-laws revision task force was created and the recommendations were sent in the last newsletter. Mary

Lambert made a motion to accept the by-law changes. Juanita Popenoe seconded the motion and it passed.

The student award winners were announced.

Scholarship Winners

Catherine Belisle, Daniel Bodakye, Susmita Gaire, Riphine Mainviele, Shahrzad Bodaghi, Natalia Macan, Lanyen Chang, Trequan McGee, Carina Theodore, Xhou Zou, Sarah Brewer, Syuan-You Lin, James Orrock, Mary Dixon, Marie Dorval, Xiangju Fu, Gustavo Kreutz, Jean-Maude Louizias, and Vincent Michael.

Best Student Presentations

First place: Vincent Njung'e Michael

Inheritance of Resistance to Phytophthora Crown Rot in Cucurbita pepo

Second place: Mary Dixon

Genotypic Variability in Phosphorus Use Efficiency by Hydroponically-grown

Tomato

Third place: Gustavo F. Kreutz

Lettuce Performance in Two Types of Soil in Florida

Student Best Paper Award

First place: Cane Management of Floricane-fruiting Blackberries Grown in Central Florida. Shinsuke Agehara and Syuan-You Lin

Second place: Relationships between Leaf Chlorophyll Content, Fertilizer Application Rates and Visual Grades of Greenhouse-grown Homalomena 'Emerald Gem'

Kenneth J. Sweeney, Morgan Jones, Adam Cruz, Carolyn Cureton, Malcolm M. Manners, and John L Griffis, Jr.

The nomination committee presented the recommendations for president-elect, secretary, treasurer, sectional vice president elects, member-at-large, and newsletter coordinator. A motion was made by and seconded to accept the nominations as follows.

President-Elect

Noris Ledesma

Secretary

Fernando Alferez

Treasurer

Kevin Athearn

Sectional Vice President
Davie Kadyampakeni, Citrus
Kaydie McCormick, Ornamental, Garden, and Landscape
Tia Silvasy, Agroecology and Natural Resources
Ali Sarkhosh, Krome Memorial Institute
Tei Lili, Handling and Processing
Lincoln Zotarelli, Vegetable

Member-at-Large Tom Stopyra

Newsletter Coordinator
Alicia Lamborn

Eric Simonne recognized the service of all the 2019 officers, committee members, and sponsors. Gene McAvoy presented Eric Simonne a plaque on behalf of the society.

Mary Lamberts made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Lisa Hickey seconded the motion and it passed. The meeting was adjourned.